Hola! Each runlevel has a certain number of services stopped or started, giving the user control over the behavior of the machine. Conventionally, seven runlevels exist, numbered from zero to six. While brewing coffee at home I found the difference between runlevels in Linux. See below.

0HaltShuts down the system.
1Single-user modeDoes not configure network interfaces, start daemons or allow non-root logins.
2Multi-user modeDoes not configure network interfaces or start daemons.
3Multi-user mode with NetworkingStarts the system normally.
4UndefinedNot used.
5X11 (GUI)As runlevel 3 plus display manager.
6RebootReboots the system.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *